top of page


Every year, the Eta Beta Sigma chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. hosts our annual Nelson J. Senter Scholarship Luncheon to recognize Nashville area college-bound high school seniors for scholastic accomplishments. Named for Bro. Nelson J. Senter, the annual scholarship luncheon has awarded over $100k in scholarship awards to Nashville area students since its inception.  The Nelsen J. Senter Scholarship Luncheon honors the outstanding contributions made by Senter throughout his career in education.  Senter, a 1944 graduate of Tennessee State University, retired after 40 years of service to Metro schools

The Nelsen J. Senter Scholarship Luncheon will be held on Saturday, April 21, 2018 at The Cal Turner Family Center on the campus of Meharry Medical College. Tickets are $50 per person and can be purchased from a brother or online via Eventbrite

The Eta Beta Sigma chapter will again present an award for Educator of the Year and the Orrin Rucker Memorial Scholarship. The Orrin Rucker Memorial Scholarship was established in 2017 to honor the life and legacy of Bro. Orrin Rucker, a graduate of Fisk University and a 50-year plus member of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. Rucker was a retired educator of Metro Nashville Public Schools and was one of the major supporters of the Nelson G. Senter Scholarship Luncheon until his passing in 2015. 


If you are interested in placing an advertisement in the luncheon souvenir book please click below (Deadline 4/9/2018).

2018 Advertising Packet



For more information on the Nelsen J. Senter Scholarship Luncheon, please contact Dr. Earl Lattimore or Pastor Ron Parham, scholarship luncheon Co-Chair, at or


2018 Committee

Co-Chairs Bro Dr. Earl Lattimore and Bro Ron Parham

Hon. Bro Wm Hayslett

Bro Greg Brand

Bro Don Parham

Bro Jordan Knight

Bro Duwon Clark

Bro Quandarius Stewart

Bro Draper Joyner


bottom of page